Celtic Prayers

Through Kairos friends, I have been introduced to Celtic prayers, specifically a prayer book by J. Philip Newell.  So, I’ve been using them at bedtime with the kids and it has been simple and beautiful.

From Sunday night prayers…

“Out of the silence at the begining of time, you spoke the word of life.

Out of the world’s primeval darkness, you flooded the universe with light.

In the quiet of this place

in the dark of the night I wait and watch.

In the stillness of my soul and from its fathomless depths, the senses of my heart are awake to you.

For fresh soundings of life, for new showings of light

I search in the silence of my spirit, O God.”

Meditation…

“You are my light and salvation, whom shall I fear?”  Psalm 27:1

“The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.”  John 1:5

20131110-205454.jpg

2 thoughts on “Celtic Prayers

  1. My spiritual director has let me borrow her copy; I, too, love this book of prayers. Great idea to read them with the kids. Last night Jaida and I laid in her bed as she read me some excerpts from her journal. She actually had written her very first poem! Can I tell you how my heart soared?! I realized that she might, too, enjoy hearing some of these poetic prayers. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love that Annette! Love to get glimpses into the deep part of our children! I just bought the Sounds of the Eternal as well- have found these prayers to be such a blessing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

