Image

Amuse me and let me end this year with a post of favorites.    Not all new to 2013, but new to me.

My favorite books of the year….

Non Fiction

Pastrix– Nadia Boltz Weber   (also Krista Tippett’s Interview with her at the Wild Goose Festival)

Leaving Church– Barbara Brown Taylor

Night Visions– Jan L. Richardson (amazing poetry- and I used to hate poetry)

 Fiction-

Bel Canto– Ann Patchett  (read State of Wonder a few years ago, great book as well!)

Animal Dreams– Barbara Kingsolver

Me Before You  JoJo Moyes

Books I’m taking forever to read, but they are oh. so. good.

Gilead– Marilynne Robinson

Love & Salt: A Spiritual Friendship Shared in Letters– Amy Andrews and Jessica Mesman Griffith

Flight Behavior– Barbara Kingsolver

Now for music!

Albums-  (ones I loved this year, not released this year)

Shovels and Rope- O Be Joyful  (Birmingham  video)

Johnny Cash- American Man IV- The Man Comes Around

Bon Iver- For Emma, Forever Ago

The Avett Brothers-  The Carpenter    (THIS interview video, so good.)

Favorite links from around the internet-

The Work of the People- Brene Brown, Jesus Wept  (Top favorite, hands down.)

Snap Judgement- Shane Koyczan, “Why Does This Man’s Grandfather Fight Monsters?”  (STRONG  language warning)

On Being with Krista Tippett- Walter Brueggemann, Prophetic Imagination

Rachel Held Evans- Everyone’s a Biblical Literalist Until You Bring Up Gluttony

The Moth-  Anthony Griffith, “It Was the Best of Times, It Was the Worst of Times

The Work of the People, “Clinging to a Tiny God,”  Father Greg Boyle

My stuff

I wrote a lot this year.   A lot, as far as my usual writing goes.  As I look over the stuff that I have written to share with you, I think the posts that meant the most to me were (in no particular order)

Be Gentle With Yourself

Hope Deferred, Longing Fulfilled

The Shift

15

ANNNNNNNND,  The most beautiful thing that happened in 2013?   Norah Jane Maurice.   I love my niece.

One of my greatest hopes for 2014 is that I am able to continue to write and grow in my abilities.  And my absolute GREATEST hope for my writing is that it will create a community for me and for you.  Oh that this community would be a place to be who we really are, a place of freedom.  If there is any reason I write, it is to continually set myself free and to invite you all to do the same.

Or like Shane Koyczan says, “Close your eyes,   I’m going to turn on a light.”

Happy 2014.

