Wind Chimes and Worship

I slipped out the back door and found a place in a comfy chair on our patio.   Our busy neighborhood was quiet and  still.  So, I sat and listened.  The birds chirped and the wind chimes played me a beautiful song.  I found stillness in that moment and sank deeply into the cushion that held me.  The kids were inside and Drew was away for the day.  I knew it would be busy with church, baseball, soccer and more soccer.  

So I just stayed there.

The breeze touched the leaves.  The chimes continued and I let it all in.

For me, this morning, this was my worship.

I spend my time at church wrestling my children in the pew.  Putting out fires with sibling conflicts and general restlessness.  I thought about Drew, miles away,  running his race. His Church of the Long Run.  I was jealous.  My mind tried desperately to engage, but I was continually pulled this way and that.

Sometimes it’s just like that.  We need to find worship wherever we can find the stillness.  In those places where the burdens feel a bit lighter and the pressures surrounding us feel a slightly further away- if only for a moment.

Grateful for those moments alone with the wind and the chimes.  It was there, in this beautiful, busy, sunny day that the Spirit met me.  

Brief.  

But I’ll take it.

 

 

 

20140518-172534-62734176.jpg

Leave a Reply

