I’m like the rain in a downpour

I wash away what you long for

I wave goodbye with the sun in my eyes

I wish I could be there tonight

Brandi Carlile sings and I listen.   

There are noises in the other room.  Kids playing, talking, singing, fighting,  and then chatting with their cousin on FaceTime.

I’m like the wind in the canyon

I’m there then I’m gone in a second

You’re growing older in peace where you’re at

I wish I could be there for that

I settle into the leather chair and hide in my quiet space.

It’s been along weekend of fun things and good friends.

Hard things too.

And I’m tired.

I’m grateful.

I’m empty and I’m full.

But I’ve moved on

Like a rolling stone

In a crowded room

I’m alone

What have I learned in the past several days?

I’m a poet and a pastor.

I feel your pain deeply.

I live it and breathe it as I move throughout my day.

I hear you.

I carry it all.

You’re like the tide in the deep blue

Cause you’re always there when I need you

And when you need someone to carry you through

I’m gonna be there for you

But so much of what I carry is not mine to take.

I need to let go.

“Let go and let God,” they say.

But as Anne Lamott said last night, “Don’t you think I’d let go if I could?”

And when you need someone to carry you through

I’m gonna be there for you

I’m gonna be there for you

Another week and weekend gone.

I’ve learned just a bit more about who I am.

About who we are.

About how I hope we can be.

