Happy Pride!

Fact about me:

Once upon a time I didn’t believe in equal rights for all people. I truly thought that the LGBTQ community I had heard of were sinners and chosen a “sinful lifestyle.”

Then, I started to get to know people who weren’t like me and my heart began to change. I was part of a church and my church was struggling to make a decision about aligning themselves with organizations that would love and affirm gay people. Some folks were open and many were not. Someone said they were afraid to open the church doors to an event where the LGBTQ community could come and talk to us and tell their stories.

I walked out of church after a meeting one evening and my entire being knew I couldn’t go back. Why were people more worried about how we would appear to others rather than be willing to just hear someone’s story?

The last six years have brought me to a completely new place and shattered all the beliefs that kept me from loving people for exactly who they were.

I am not a different person, I am fully myself.

Happy Pride month to all of you. I am proud to know and love so many people who are at home with themselves. I am grateful that I was able to get over any fear I had ever learned.

Some of you will not understand how I ever thought differently. Some will be offended because I changed my mind. That’s all ok with me. I think it’s just important to tell our stories, no matter what people may think.

Love is love is love is love is love.
And I am all in.
❤️🧡💛💚💙💜

One thought on “Happy Pride!

  1. Thanks Lisa for this honest and important post. Richard Rohr talks about evolution in terms of our own lives. I like to think of myself as evolving in my own personal development instead of being static or stuck In beliefs or opinions. Of course, my children help me in this process as well! Happy Pride! Nancy

    On Fri, Jun 5, 2020 at 9:06 PM A Sky Full of Stories wrote:

    > Lisa posted: ” Fact about me: Once upon a time I didn’t believe in equal > rights for all people. I truly thought that the LGBTQ community I had heard > of were sinners and chosen a “sinful lifestyle.” Then, I started to get to > know people who weren’t like me and my ” >

    Like

Leave a comment